Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Music Director & Chief Conductor Pavel Kogan
back to list
Subscription № 80 «Moscow State Symphony Orchestra under direction of Pavel Kogan»
Great Hall of the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory

How to get
900 - 2400 rubles
2 hours
28 October (Wednesday) 2020

What a depth! What courage and what harmony!”, - so, in the words of Pushkin's Salieri, let’s try to convey the whole multifaceted essence of the brilliant art of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. His music, so clear and, at the same time, incomprehensible, reveals the most diverse facets of human life in its entirety. The evening's program will be opened by the composer's overture to the opera «Don Juan», in which two opposing beginnings of life are inextricably intertwined – the ominous tread of rock and the seething stream of life. In the same year as «Don Juan», Mozart creates the Piano Concerto in A Major (No. 23). The surprisingly soft, pastel timbre of the clarinet, newly introduced by the composer, coupled with a sophisticated piano part, creates a feeling of an intimate, chamber performance. And the sounds of the famous Adagio of the concerto convey a painful feeling of longing, behind which you can see the face of a completely “different”, unusually serious Mozart-philosopher. The solo part in the concert will be performed by Dmitry Shishkin, laureate of the XVI International Tchaikovsky Competition (II Prize).

In the second part of the concert, the Fourth “Tragic” symphony of the European romantic composer Franz Schubert will sound. The imaginative content of this work is best suited for the Beethoven concept “from darkness to light”. The author embodied in the musical sounds of the symphony his own despair and cold of loneliness, poetic love and the pure joy of life.

Uroš Lajovic, a Slovenian conductor and famous music teacher, awarded the Austrian honorary badge “For Science and Art”, will stand at the conductor desk.

Font type
Letter spacing – kerning
Text size