Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Music Director & Chief Conductor Pavel Kogan
back to list
Pavel Kogan conducts
Tchaikovsky Concert Hall

How to get
900 - 2400 rubles
2 hours
24 March (Wednesday) 2021

On 24 March, 2021 in the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory, the Moscow State Academic Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Pavel Kogan as part of the Philharmonic subscription No. 79 “Pavel Kogan conducts” will present a magnificent unforgettable program from most popular compositions by Sergei Prokofiev who quickly burst into the turbulent, volatile 20th century as unique groundbreaking phenomenon. His art caused controversy and misunderstanding, delight and admiration, it stunned and even warped. Only a few of contemporaries were destined to recognize then at the beginning of the century behind the armor of innovation and outrageous authentic classic of the 20th century. Prokofiev was indifferent to the trends of musical fashion. He always moved his own way, sought to affirm and defend his independence as an artist. In the foreign period (1918-1933) he did not join any artistic movement, which would require severe restrictions from the master; could not break it and the monstrous realities of the Soviet system with the ominous shadow of Stalinism and the struggle against formalism in art. Also, «Pictures at an Exhibition» by Modest Mussorgsky – a Russian composer, a member of “The Mighty Handful”, will be performed during this concert. 

The conductor of the concert is the Music Director and Chief Conductor of the orchestra, People's Artist and laureate of the State Prize of Russia Pavel Kogan, whose contribution to art was awarded the most prestigious international awards. In 2019, the maestro celebrated the 30th anniversary of the headship of MSSO. Under his leadership, a well-known performing style of the collective was formed, in which an extremely wide repertoire is combined with a sophisticated depth of interpretation and virtuosity of performance. The soloist is Vadim Kholodenko, Winner of the Youth Prize “Triumph”, Laureate of Franz Liszt International Piano Competition in Budapest (2001, III prize), the Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition (2006, III prize), the Maria Canals International Music Competition in Barcelona (2012, III prize), Winner of the international Maria Callas competitions in Athens (2004, Grand Prix), Sendai (2010, 1st Prize), F. Schubert in Dortmund (2011, 1st Prize), Van Cliburn in Fort Worth (2013, Gold Medal and Prize for the best performance of a chamber work), and others.

Font type
Letter spacing – kerning
Text size