Moscow State Symphony Orchestra
Music Director & Chief Conductor Pavel Kogan
Roman Filipov
Upcoming Events
Subscription № 24 «Music palette»

The performances of Roman Filipov admire the audience with a bright personality, artistry, remarkable skill, and the depth of musical thought. Luculent proof of this are victories at the Leopold Auer International Violin Competition (1st Prize, 2016, St. Petersburg, Russia) and at many other musical competitions including the International Violin Competition “Andrea Postacchini” (2nd Prize, 2012, Fermo, Italy), International music competition named after Nikolay Lysenko (2nd prize (1st prize was not awarded), 2012, Kiev, Ukraine), International Music Competition “Art of the XXI Century” (Grand Prix, 2010, Klaipeda, Lithuania), International Music Competition “Art of the XXI Century” (Grand Prix, 2009, Kiev-Vorzel, Ukraine), and the VII International Violin Competition named after M. Erdenko (I prize 2007, Belgorod, Russia).

A native of Tchaikovsky city, Perm Territory, has been playing the violin since he was 6 years old. In 2007 he completed his studies at the Children's Music School No. 1 in Perm (class of teacher T. A. Shevtsova), in 2011 he graduated from the Tchaikovsky Academic Music College at the Moscow State Conservatory (class of T.V. Balashova). In 2016, he graduated from the Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory (class of People's Artist of the Russian Federation, Professor A.E. Vinnitsky). In 2018, he received a diploma of assistant-internship at Moscow State Tchaikovsky Conservatory (artistic director – A.E. Vinnitsky).

Since 2015 until 2017 he was an artist, and then Co-Principal of the symphony orchestra of the State Academic Bolshoi Theater of Russia. Since the 2017/2018 season, he has been holding position of the Leader of the Moscow State Academic Symphony Orchestra under direction of Pavel Kogan (MSSO).

As the soloist he performed with the State Symphony Orchestra "New Russia", the Perm Symphony Orchestra of the Perm Academic Opera and Ballet Theater named after P.I. Tchaikovsky, Zhukovsky Symphony Orchestra, Russian State Symphony Orchestra of Cinematography, Voronezh Academic Symphony Orchestra, State Academic Symphony Orchestra of the Republic of Belarus, Russian National Orchestra and others. In the season 2019/2020, Roman will debut in the subscription of the Moscow Philharmonic in the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall with the Orpheus Radio Symphony Orchestra, and also for the first time will meet on stage with the Far Eastern Academic Symphony Orchestra, the Surgut Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, the Kuzbass Governor Symphony Orchestra.

Roman is an enthusiastic and experienced ensemble performer. In this role, he plays the 1st violin in the Quartet named after V. A. Berlinsky, collaborates with well-known Russian and foreign musicians, participates in the subscription “Great music for a small ensemble”, chamber programs of the Ensemble of Soloists of the Moscow State Academic Philharmonic and the Moscow Musical Commonwealth. In 2018, in the Chamber Hall of the Moscow Philharmonic, the musician performed the part of the violin in the world premiere of Serenade for flute, violin, viola and triangle in A-major by A. Dvorak, a composition written in 1867 but not published and not previously performed publicly. In November 2019, he participated in the world premiere of Richard Strauss' youth opus “Duel” for flute, bassoon and string quartet.

The violin of the 19th century by the French master Honoré Derazey sounds in the hands of the artist.

Font type
Letter spacing – kerning
Text size